Seeing Paris

I heard shouting and went out my door in the 10th arrondissement.  Demonstrators were shouting and marching en masse into the neighborhood.  Police were leaving Place de la Republique.

image

I learned later that police had been demonstrating against anti-police violence.  Why they were allowed to go, en masse, into a square where anti-police demonstrators have been congregating every night, I do not know.  In my experience, for the last few nights, there is a large contingent there every night that are explicitly anti-police or anti police violence.

Soon, I saw a police car on fire.

imageimage

Some demonstrators, I learned later, sent a Molotov cocktail, or something similar, into the car, forcing two police out of it.

There were a lot of spectators.  The car was burned near Canal St. Martin, a busy shopping and eating area.

image

 

image

I was surrounded by police at a certain point.

image

Some demonstrators were still around, but not too many.

image

I left the scene and saw police marching away.

image

Every night, there are hundreds of demonstrators at Place de la Republique, many of them all night I think–some angry and shouting to hip-hop in big crowds, others idealistic in discussion circles quietly planning the next republic.

Who in their right mind would have thought there could be a peaceful police demonstration there?

Leave a comment